THE SAPIENT SPARROW: conservatism for commoners

"What has always made the State a hell on earth has been precisely that man has tried to make it his heaven."–Holderlin

Introduction

Although I grew up in the Great Plains, for the past 24 years I have lived in the Northeast. In between my growing up and my settling down, I have also resided in Missouri, Texas and Washington State. Each of these places, and their people, has influenced my outlook and thinking. However, the greatest influence has been, and will always be, my Christian faith. It informs not only my values, but also my very identity.

For almost 40 years, I have been married to my high school sweetheart. We have three beautiful children. Two of them are happily married. Our oldest child has a child of her own. (Partially, it is out of concern for the future of our treasured first grandson that I began The Sapient Sparrow). Our youngest child is our “forever baby”. She suffers from autism. Raising her, teaching her and caring for her has been both the greatest joy and the greatest heartbreak of my life.

My educational background includes undergraduate studies in both the Mid-west and the Pacific Northwest in the areas of both sociology and psychology. While in the Pacific Northwest, I had the opportunity to complete an internship at a battered women’s shelter. That experience had a profound effect on my viewpoint. At NYU, I completed a Master’s degree in Counseling Psychology with a specialization in Thanatology (a fancy term for the branch of psychology that deals with death, dying and bereavement). I worked as a private practitioner in the area of Thanatology for 12 years. In addition, as an adjunct professor, I taught undergraduate courses in psychology. I have also presented numerous seminars, lectures and workshops on various aspects of human relationships and personal growth and development. From the time I closed my practice at the end of 1999, I have worked to develop curricula and techniques to educate our child with autism. She continues her studies, independently now days, and progresses in her own time and in her own way.

Politically, I have progressed through anti-war protests during the ‘60s to recent “Tea Party” protests. What do these have in common? Questioning authority, and fighting against big government control over individual lives. I applaud the ability of the free market to create prosperity, and the ability of the free individual to make sound decisions. I believe that in terms of Government, less is not only more, but more than enough. Federalism is my preferred form of government. Its dwindling presence has led to lobbyists with too much influence, special interest groups with too much control, and the rest of us with too little of either. I believe that the power of government should come from the electorate. Practically, I am dismayed that this is often not the case. Finally, I believe that whenever human values replace religious ones, and the worship of an ideology replaces worship of the Creator, the purpose of our Founding Fathers is confounded. Furthermore, I have concluded that the defeat of our founding purpose is indeed the “change” that is often touted today. Whether or not I engage in the fight, its outcome will surely affect not only me, but all those whom I love, as well as those I will never meet. I quote Whittaker Chambers:
“To put it in my own way, I like to trust that the God of Battles
has this Republic in His care.” (Witness, p. 743)

He then continues with a very important point:

“…in general, battles are won by the reserves.” (Witness, p. 743)

I am humbled by the first quote and strengthened by the second. The reserves will ultimately be called upon. Let us endeavor to be well prepared to engage the battle.

Filed under: personal,

Leave a Reply

