THE SAPIENT SPARROW: conservatism for commoners

"What has always made the State a hell on earth has been precisely that man has tried to make it his heaven."–Holderlin

TO ALL OUR VETERANS-THANK YOU

Anzio

In 2004, the WWII National Memorial was dedicated in Washington, D.C.  My Daddy, a veteran of WWII, did not live to see it.  He was aware of its creation and contributed financially to its erection.  It seemed to me that he believed that he had a personal stake in helping it to be built.  Daddy served in the 45th “Thunderbird” Division as a Combat Engineer.  He lan45th Division Thunderbirdded first in North Africa,  later in Sicily and soon after that in Anzio, Italy.  The war experiences of my father, a midwestern farm boy from a tiny community, shaped him forever.  I never tired listening and learning from the stories that he told about “the war”.

I would like to think that, had he lived, he would have been one of the first on the bus to Washington D.C. this year to see the WWII Memorial, his memorial.  I would also like to think that his reaction would have been like those in the video below.  Though I am sorry that Daddy, like many of his cohorts, never were able to see the WWII Memorial completed, I am overjoyed that many have.

Today, above all days, I offer my heartfelt thanks to those, like my Daddy, who sacrificed and continue to sacrifice their lives in defense of our freedom.  May God bless all of you who have blessed us so immeasurably.

Filed under: national defense, personal, , , ,

Leave a Reply

