THE SAPIENT SPARROW: conservatism for commoners

"What has always made the State a hell on earth has been precisely that man has tried to make it his heaven."–Holderlin

THANKING GOD FOR SMALL FAVORS

These days it can be somewhat difficult to identify our blessings beyond the obvious: food, shelter, family, jobs, faith community, health and a country that, for the present, remains free in important respects.  Upon closer inspection, however, I believe that we can find small favors that God is granting us at this time.  Here is my list; perhaps you can think of others.  If so, please share them.

1- I thank God that Congress is in recess, giving us a brief respite from their evil mischief.
2- I thank God for the hacker that published the CRU e-mails.
3- I thank God for the PI who “rescued” the dumped ACORN documents.
4- I thank God that the POTUS has finally announced that he will announce his decision on troops for Afghanistan.
5- I thank God for our brave troops overseas, and especially in Afghanistan who fight on during this Thanksgiving despite falling morale due to the delay of resources.  May the Almighty extend special protections over them now and always.
6- I thank God that all polls now show the presidential approval rating at less than 50%.
7- I thank God for the news outlets that attempt to convey fact and truth, despite being attacked for doing so.  Among these are: Fox News, WABC-New York radio, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Post, The Washington Times, The Telegraph (UK) and The Herald-Sun (Australia), and I thank God for the “alternative” Internet media.
8- I thank God for the religious leaders who stepped forward to publicly express a commitment to the heritage and truths that Christianity values.
9- I thank God for the people in their millions who are awakening to fight against a wholesale Government take-over of our liberties.
10- I thank God that a majority of Americans identify with center-right values and Judeo-Christian beliefs.

As I re-examine my list of “small favors”, it occurs to me that these are really not so small after all.  I thank God for that too.

Wishing you and yours a blessed and Happy Thanksgiving filled with peace and plenty.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

