THE SAPIENT SPARROW: conservatism for commoners

"What has always made the State a hell on earth has been precisely that man has tried to make it his heaven."–Holderlin

HOW ABOUT A NICE CUPPA TEA?


It is a beautiful day here, warm and sunny.  Our local Tea Party held its second annual Tax Day Tea Party today.  There were, perhaps, fewer attendees this year.  However, with the many competing Tea Parties in the area, as well as the huge gathering in Washington, D. C., that was to be expected.  Still, there were more than 1,000 of us.  No “crashers” turned up, just regular “extreme” folks.  One of these stood near me listening to one of the speakers.  Despite the warm day, he wore a red windbreaker jacket. An olive green baseball cap adorned his head.  With difficulty, since he was leaning on a cane, he still managed to applaud with gusto as the speaker made his points.  At the end of the speech, he turned.  It was then that I saw the applique on his windbreaker and the one on his hat.  “Guadalcanal”, read the patch on his sleeve.  “1st Marines”, read the one on his hat.  I stepped over to him.  “Am I in your way?” he asked.  “No,” I said.  Then, after taking a deep breath, (I am really much shyer than I seem), I asked him, “Were you on Guadalcanal?”  “Yes, Ma’am”, he said in that tough, clipped military way.  I grasped his large, soft hand and squeezed it.  “Thank you, and God Bless you always”, I said.  I couldn’t see his eyes.  They were covered with dark glasses, but nevertheless, I could see that he was both surprised and touched as he smiled and nodded.  It was good that my eyes were shaded too, as I felt tears begin to sting them.  I quickly turned and walked away knowing that I had just had the honor of touching a true hero, and, that if we have such heroes as he sharing “High Tea” with us, then we are unstoppable indeed.

Take heart, stand firm and soldier on.  I know one Marine that is doing just that.  Semper Fi!

REMEMBER IN NOVEMBER!

Filed under: personal, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

